Skip to content

Document Header

The Central Staffing Scheme (CSS)

The Central Staffing Scheme (CSS) provides a systematic arrangement for selection and appointment of officers to Joint Secretary, Director and Deputy Secretary level posts at central government. Presently, there are 36 services (like IAS, IPS, IFS and other group A services) participating under Central Staffing Scheme. The Online submission by officers module under CSS enables the eligible officers to submit their application details (like Personal Data, Qualification, Training and Experience) online through the URL ( A link has also been made available in the website of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions ( under online services. The application submitted online by the individual officer will be available to the concerned nodal officer of the respective Cadre Controlling Authority for validation, verification of application, entry of details related to Vigilance / Disciplinary cases, Central Deputation debarment, ACR against each individual officers application and transmits it electronically to Department of Personnel and Training (DOPT) for further processing and issuing posting orders to selected officers.
List of Services Participating under Central Staffing Scheme:
1 Central Company Law Service
2 Central Engineering Service (Roads)
3 Central Power Engineering Service
4 Indian Trade Service
5 Central Water Engineering Service
6 Central Engineering Service (CPWD)
7 Indian Administrative Service
8 Indian Audit & Account Service
9 Indian Broadcasting (Engineering) Service
10 Indian Broadcasting Programme Service
11 Indian Civil Accounts Service
12 Indian Cost Accounts Service
13 Indian Defence Accounts Service
14 Indian Defence Estate Service
15 Indian Defence Service of Engineers
16 Indian Economic Service
17 Indian Forest Service
18 Indian Information Service
19 Indian Inspection Service
20 Indian Ordnance Factory Service
21 Indian P&T Finance & Accounts Service
22 Indian Police Service
23 Indian Postal Service
24 Indian Railway Accounts Service
25 Indian Railway Personnel Service
26 Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers
27 Indian Railway Service of Engineers
28 Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers
29 Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers
30 Indian Railway Store Service
31 Indian Railway Traffic Service
32 Indian Revenue Service(C&CE)
33 Indian Revenue Service(IT)
34 Indian Statistical Service
35 Indian Supply Service
36 Indian Telecom Service
37. Geological Survey of India, Group ‘A’ Service

The eligibility of officers for holding posts of the level of Under Secretary and above is as given below:-



Level Years of Service required in Group ‘A’ Profile of level Maximum tenure for level
Under Secretary 5 In India, Undersecretary is an officer level secretariat post in Central ministries, tenanted by officers of various civil services, usually promoted officers from the Group ‘B’ (Section Officers) of Central Secretariat Service(CSS), or the IAS, or other Group ‘A’ services on deputation. 3
Deputy Secretary 9 Deputy Secretary/Director in charge of Administration exercises all Administrative powers as Head of Office of the Ministry/Department. 4
Director 14 5
Joint Secretary 17 He is the overall in-charge of the Wing of the Department. The Prime Minister of India is the final authority on posting and transfer of officers of Joint/Addl Secretary level. He report either to the Cabinet Minister of India or to the Prime Minister of India. 5
Additional Secretary 25 NA
Secretary 30 Head of department. NA

Primary Sidebar

Secondary Sidebar